News Detail

ISLAMABAD:  Envoys designate of Philippines, Belgium, Netherlands, Uzbekistan, Egypt, European Union, Norway, Poland, Italy, Cyprus, Serbia and Peru presented their credentials to President Mamnoon Hussain on Tuesday at an impressive ceremony held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.


Earlier, each envoy-designate arrived at the main gate of the Aiwan-e-Sadr in a horse driven carriage.  On the occasion, the National Anthem of Pakistan and their respective countries were played and the envoys designate were also presented Guard of Honour.


Later, the Ambassadors and High Commissioner called on the President separately. Speaking on the occasion, the President said that Pakistan is desirous of further promoting friendly and brotherly relations with all countries particularly with its neighbours for peace, stability and prosperity in the region. The President stated that Pakistan offers great investment opportunities adding that international investors should take advantage of its investor friendly policies. Talking about Pakistan’s efforts against terrorism, the President said that Pakistan has rendered immense sacrifices in war against terrorism and is committed to end this menace. He stated that Operation Zarb-e-Azb is progressing successfully emphasizing that the operation would continue till elimination of the last terrorist.


The President felicitated the newly appointed Ambassadors and High Commissioner to Pakistan and hoped that they would work for further cementing the existing ties of their respective countries with Pakistan. The President also wished the newly appointed envoys a comfortable and pleasant stay in Pakistan.


Ambassadors and High Commissioner who presented their credentials included Mr. Daniel R. Espiritu, Ambassador-designate of Philippines,
Mr. Frederic Verheyden, Ambassador-designate of Belgium,
Mrs. Jeanette Seppen, Ambassador-designate of Netherlands, Mr. Furkat SIDIKOV, Ambassador-designate of Uzbekistan, Mr. Sherif Mohamed Kamaleldin Shaheen, Ambassador-designate of Egypt, Mr. Jean-Francois Cautain, Ambassador-designate of European Union, Mr. Tore Nedreba, Ambassador-designate of Norway,
Mr. Piotr Opalinski, Ambassador-designate of Poland,
Mr. Stefano Pontecorvo, Ambassador-designate of Italy, Mr. Andreas P. Kouzoupis, High Commissioner-designate of Cyprus (Resident in Tehran), Mr. Milan Bacevic, Ambassador-designate of Serbia (Resident in Beijing), and Mr. Juan Carios Capunay Chavez, Ambassador-designate of Peru (Resident in Beijing).

  Go Back