Press Release Detail
Dated: 3/29/2015
President Mamnoon Hussain called upon Ulemas and religious scholars to play proactive role in promoting ethical values, tolerance, brotherhood and religious co-existence in the society.  The President emphasized that Ulemas and religious scholars should preach against the curses of corruption and bribery in their sermons and speeches in the light of noble teachings of Islam.
The President said this while in a sitting with Ulemas and religious scholars on a topic “Lack of Ethical values and Corruption” at Aiwan-e-Sadr, Islamabad.
The President stated, in view of current scenario, it is the national responsibility of religious scholars and Mashaikhs to press the importance of unity, forbearance and religious harmony in the country.  The President said that dark forces are bent upon denting the unity and fabric of society through their hideous designs and underscored the urgency to collectively defeat the negative mindset adding that religious scholars could play an important role in this regard.  The President stressed that it is the duty of Ulemas to propagate inter-faith harmony in the country.
The President observed that moral values have weakened over the years and social evils like greed, bribery and corruption gained grounds and called upon the religious clerics to reverse the tide in the light of Islamic guidelines.
The President also said that the government is committed to weed out the disease of corruption from the country.
Noted Ulemas and religious scholars included, inter-alia, Mufti Muneeb ur Rehman, Mulana Raghib Hassan Naeemi, Mufti Athar Naeemi, Maulana Mujfti Sher Khan, Maulana Zia ul Haq Naqashbani, Pir Syed Naqeeb ur Rehman, Mufti Muhammad Haseeb Qadri, Maulana Ahmed Ali Qasuri, Mufti Muhammad Kareem Khan, Khawaja Pir ghulam Qutab Din, Pir Ahmad Fazeel Khan, Molana Jehangir Mehmood, Mufti Rafi Usmani, Hafiz Tahir Mehmood Ashrafi, Qari Roohullah Madni, Maulana abdul Khabeer Azad, Qari Muhammad Hanif Jalandhri, Mulana Muhammad Salfi, Alama Ibtisam Ilahi Zaheer, Alama Talib Johri, Maulana Syed Shahenshah Hussain Naqvi, Qazi Syed Niaz Hussain Naqvi, Alama Nauman Saqib Akbar and Dr. Hafiz Ehsan ul Haq

Go Back